Board Meetings are open to the public

​Minutes may be viewed by appointment at the TVCOA Administrative Office

106 N. Bay St., Amite, LA.                



In cooperation with Governor John Bel Edwards' Proclamation and the recommendations of the Center for Disease Control, the Tangipahoa Voluntary Council on Aging has made changes and adjustments in operations.

The Senior Citizens Centers located throughout the parish remain open without meals and activities.  Temperatures will be taken of anyone entering the buildings, including staff.

The meals normally served at the Centers will be substituted for shelf-stable meals and delivered to the participants on March 16th and 30th.  This may continue every two weeks until further notice.

The frozen meals normally delivered to the homebound will continue with precautions taken to protect the staff as well as the seniors.

Transportation will be provided on a limited basis for routine medical appointments and possibly shopping and errands.  Riders will be advised when calling to schedule that their temperature will be taken before they board the bus and they will be given a mask that they must wear on the bus.  Riders will be scheduled at a limit of  2 or 3 on the bus at one time.

Both the Hammond and Ponchatoula City busses will be suspended until further notice.

Seniors will be telephoned regularly to inquire as to their well-being and if they need anything and if they are ok.

This being the most vulnerable population, extreme care will be taken to protect our elderly.  I apologize for any inconvenience this may cause.  Please know that we will continue to do everything we possibly can to serve those in need.  Our staff may be limited if they become ill or need to care for an ill family member or children who are out of school and no sitter available.

Call the Administrative office 985-748-7486 or the Senior Center in your area for more information.

If you are interested in serving on the TVCOA Board of Directors, please contact Debi Fleming 985-748-7486

Providing services and assistance to residents of Tangipahoa Parish, age 60 and older to help them remain independent and in their own homes as long as possible.


Tangipahoa Voluntary Council on Aging


2018-19 Board members:  Jenel Seacrease Chairman,​, Ronald Peevy, Vice Chairman, Colleen Ebarb, Sec.-Treasurer, Tonya Mabry, Terrilyn Dunn, ​Juiet Schillings, Carl Wells, ​Derlean Butler, ​Frank Fortenberry Jr., ​Robin Dagro, Celestin Harris, Jr., ​​Elsa Blessey, Chris Chappell, Scott Perrilloux, Janet Dennis​​

Tangipahoa Voluntary Council on Aging



Tangipahoa Voluntary Council on Aging

As you know, our annual Walk for Seniors and Picnic has been cancelled due to COVID-19.  However our need for the funds still exists as we are now bringing meals to 2140 additional seniors who normally visit one of our five Senior Centers.  Please click on the link below and make a donation or sponsorship for Walk for Seniors which will now be held in the fall.  

​Thank you for your support

​​2018-19 Meeting Dates

​3rd Tuesday of Every Other Month at 8:30 a.m. at Independence City Hall

​​December 18, February 19, April 16, June 18, August 20

​Annual Membership Meeting October 18, 2019-9:00 a.m. Ponchatoula Community Center

The Tangipahoa Voluntary Council on Aging is conducting an annual membership drive, open, without restriction, to adult residents of the parish.  Applications are available at the Council on Aging Administrative Office, 106 N. Bay St., Amite, LA  weekdays from 8:30 a.m. until 4:00 p.m.

People who have been identified as current members two weeks before the October meeting may vote for board members.  

Membership rolls will close October 4, 2019.

Membership fees will not be charged.

The Annual  General Membership  meeting will be held on October 18, 2019 beginning at 8:30 a.m. at the Ponchatoula Community Center.  

The group will nominate and elect board members, receive reports and conduct any other business that may arise.

Call 985-748-7486 for more information